Skip to content

barometric reading

November 10, 2013
barometer
CC Image Source here
Both daughers out. Us at home alone, together.

Not so unusual these days.

Like the picture book Dog In, Cat Out I used to dramatise snugged in our favourite winged armchair 15-20-something years ago, cataloguing home rhythms/sentient being movements is a useful barometric reading of mise en place.
  1. Yesterday, I was out at English teacherly marking business. Meeting with the tribe.
  2. Daughter one was out at her final exams. I notched the moment she finished (12.30 pm) as mothers do. There. Done now. Passage homeward.
  3. Daughter two was out at the city retail job she hates and hopes to ditch by the time she graduates from her Education Assistant course.
  4. Wes was home fixing the reticulation system; my pullaway down the morning driveway captured ruination of a newly planted garden bed, wheelbarrow filled with tools and an intensely fixed gaze. Under construction (if there was a subtitle. Or work in progress). Re-fashioned and brick-orderly upon my return.
Strikes me that daughters are in transition while we conduct maintenance.
medium_2505354619
CC Image Source here
You get the picture.
Same experience last night: Saturday night;
Daughter one bathed, saturated curls with coconut solution, paraded in the red dress which she ran past my visual detection with a “too dressy?” query.
No, I said, you look gorgeous. Off she wafted.
Scent of coconut lingered.
Also the honeysuckle drift commingled up our passageway.
Apt term – she is undertaking passage.
10618885033_4d78b1d1ab_c
Later, marking, marking at the kitchen table and daughter two out with friends for the night, there’s the unwanted phone call interruption. Wes cooking dinner.
Irritated, expecting telemarketers, I took the call.
Daughter 2. Who didn’t expect me. Plus (guilty as charged on reflection), I said, What do you want? I. Am. Marking.
Give me dad, said daughter 2. I need someone more encouraging.
Now to my shameful revelation…Transcribed via a single-sided phone conversation:
There’s been a car accident. No one is hurt. I think I might be hurt. I’m frightened. My head has been checked out. There was broken glass. It hurts. Are you sure I’ll be all right? Smashed window. Four wheel drive. On a roundabout. He hit the passenger door. My door. I could have been killed. We just went for a drive. There’s no lump or bleeding. No, I’m not hurt – teary now – no, I’m not hurt. But I’m frightened. 
Brings to mind this safety message:
Acts of propitiation:
  • Cleaned the bathroom this morning;
  • Continued marking;
  • Indoors, sitting here, writing this.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

International Education News

What's new, what's good, and what's effective in education around the world

code acts in education

learning through code/learning to code

Dodgy Perth

Sordid tales from Western Australia

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

IOE LONDON BLOG

Expert opinion from the UK's leading centre for education research

the édu flâneuse

"For the perfect flâneur, for the passionate observer, it's an immense pleasure to take up residence in multiplicity, in whatever is seething, moving, evanescent and infinite: you're not at home, but you feel at home everywhere, you're at the centre of everything yet you remain hidden from everybody." Baudelaire

Reflecting English

In search of classroom answers

catherinecronin

open educator | open researcher

On an e-Journey with Generation Y

Immersing technology in the classroom and beyond into the globe!

creating multimodal texts

resources for literacy teachers

Lightning Droplets

Little flecks of inspiration and creativity

History Tech

History, technology, and probably some other stuff

Not Banjaxed...Yet

give it time

ELA in the middle

Middle School English, Language Arts

News @ CSIRO

CSIRO's news blog

Pragmatic Education

*Ideas are the currency of the 21st century*

Dennis Sparks on re·sil·ience

re·sil·ience\ri-ˈzil-yən(t)s\ noun: the ability to become strong, healthy, or successful after misfortune or disruptive change

TILT

Techniques in Learning & Teaching: Where Transformative learning & scholarly teaching meet.

Combatting Schooling Injustice: Comenius Dreaming

About schools: especially social justice, human rights and equity in education, peace building, gender, environment and food politics, and good education policy and process

